I Made a Garage Door Dog Gate Because I Couldn’t Find a Good One

BY ANDREW P. COLLINS

A quick repurposing project turned my garage into a summer hangout spot for Bramble the dog.

My dog Bramble loves hanging out in my basement garage, and I like working with fresh air rolling in through open bay doors. I wanted some way to keep her from running off to the stream without keeping the door down all the time, so I started looking for garage-sized doggie gates. They exist, but every one I found was been really expensive, ugly, or wouldn’t do a good job holding my tactical-minded Aussie shepherd. So I tried making my own.

Bramble’s actually not a full-blooded Australian shepherd, as her dad is a sizable golden retriever. So she’s not only remarkably intelligent but she’s moving up in weight classes pretty fast. All this to say: She’s tough to contain.

She was born in January and came to live with us a couple of months later. Early on, we corralled her in a portable fence-style pen from Home Depot. It worked well enough but before long, her fluffy body started taking up too much of the pen’s allotted square footage. Oh yeah, and she taught herself to climb up and over the fence—that was the real reason we had to retire it.

Read more on: I Made a Garage Door Dog Gate Because I Couldn’t Find a Good One

Related Article: Why You May or May Not Consider a Wooden Garage Door

Locals in East Cobb will benefit from the satisfaction guarantee we provide for our garage door services.

Leave a comment